The Edmondson Lodge 

In the rear half acre of the Emory House property sits a pioneer cabin of national historical significance. In the year 1775, William Preston Edmondson (also spelled Edmisten by some) built this cabin on the middle fork of the Holston River near what is now “old” Glade Spring.  Mr. Edmondson became Colonel Edmondson in the Revolutionary War, and in this capacity, he led the Virginia Militia from Abingdon to victory in the Battle of King’s Mountain in South Carolina in 1780.

In the early 1980’s, Dr. J. W. Ashworth, a “modern day pioneer” and second owner of the Emory property, purchased the cabin and relocated it to the Emory House property.   About 2 years later, Dr. Ashworth located a one room cabin near Saltville (belonging to the Kelly family), circa 1830, and likewise disassembled and reassembled it as an attachment to the Edmondson cabin, creating a structure with 4 rooms, 2 fireplaces,  and over 1600 square feet of fascinating space from the past..  Since Dr. Ashworth’s demise, Dr. Alvin E.’Rocky’ Underwood has owned,  loved and  preserved the cabin and the main house, maintaining and improving them for future generations to enjoy.  The cabin features  3 woodstoves, 2 bathrooms, a laundry room and a heat pump system for climate control.  The cabin has been approved by Washington County for use as a lodge.  It has 11 beds (3 rope beds!)  in 4 rooms and is now available for meetings, celebrations, parties,  as well as groups of as many as 14 guests for overnight stays.

The Overmountain Victory Trail Association  conducted their annual Board of Directors meeting in The Edmondson Cabin in 2011.  It is also of interest to note that many of Colonel Edmondson’s descendants still reside in and around Washington County.  PLEASE EMAIL info@theemoryhouse.com for further details on rates and reserving The Edmondson Cabin for your gathering/event.

__________________________________________________________

CLICK ON ANY IMAGE FOR A DESCRIPTION OF THE PICTURE